Existence Precedes & Commands Essence

My Life as a Gay Officer – Daily Beast

As Obama closes in on a compromise on “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,” a Lt. Colonel speaks about keeping secrets while fighting a war, and the boyfriend waiting back home.

With Congress making a bit of progress on repealing “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,” I ran across this account of a Lt. Col. in the military.

Personally, I’d love to find a man in the military. There’s something very alluring about those suits and fatigues. There’s also something alluring about the fact that they’re the first line of defense when it comes to the protection of this country. Men in the military are (usually) very ethical and serve because of sense of duty or purpose. Who wouldn’t want to date someone who lives with standards? But, I’d hate to date a man in the military and then find out he was discharged because of me.

The other night, Dear commented that while I didn’t scream homosexual, the traits and mannerisms were readily apparent. This is backed up by the fact that while working at a sandwich shop, my manager took me to the side on my first day and told me he was alright that I was gay. And at that time, I thought I was doing my best to keep it all in, but apparently not.

While I listened to NPR on the drive up to Atlanta, though, they reported that there may be a bit of conflict in repealing the ban on gays serving in the military. They said that because of promises made last fall, any act Congress does make will not take effect until after the military has had time to review the policy, which is set for later this year.

[The bill includes] a provision in the proposed compromise amendment that would delay the repeal of the ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy for 60 days after receipt of the findings of the Pentagon review and the determination of the proposed policy and regulation changes.

-NPR

The Armed Service Committee is set to vote on this issue tonight.

Posted using ShareThis

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers